ReedyBear's Blog

Docs: System Setup

My system setup centers around a data/ dir that holds everything I might ever want to backup or transfer between systems. There are lots of symlinks & several directories with special uses.

data/projects/ is central to my daily workflow. data/ is for long-term storage and long-term file organization.

Note: This document is primarily intended for my own use. My system setup works great at some things, but when it's not working right, I get confused bc I don't remember the nitty gritty.

Index

Things I wish to change

Directory Structure

home/reed/data/ holds almost all my configurations and files. data/ holds several symlinks, and my home dir uses symlinks extensively.

Home Directory

The home directory contains LOTS of symlinks that link INTO the data directory. Subdirectories may contain some. Such as ~/.config/nvim/ (dir) links into the data directory, as does ~/.config/i3/config (file)

Data Directory

Real directories within data/:

Files missing from data/

I can't readily get everything I want into data/. Missing is:

data/* contains various symlinks for final setup and for easier navigation. Most of them link somewhere into owner/Reed/.

Backup to external drive

Restore from backup

Setup a new system

Programming Environment

I mostly have an intuitive understanding of this, so I'm not sure I need it documented, but here's the gist:

Project Organization / Workflows

I don't really need this documented. My projects are in project/ and I have a mostly intuitive understanding of that setup.

TODO But it might be nice to write this down later.

Notes

#docs