ReedyBear's Blog

I wrote code today

I haven't been coding much at all during 2024. I've missed it a lot. I haven't been able to due to mental illness.

Coding is heavy on the executive functions, which I'm often limited in using.

But using BearBlog recently motivated me to put reedybear.com back online. So I did that.

And I thought it would be really nice to be able to login on reedybear.com to post new content.

Well the first step of that is user login. I have my own user login system, but it's kinda shitty. The worst part is the documentation & the setup process. It's just clunky and not great.

So I started setting it up on reedybear.com and ran into some issues.

I resisted several urges to go whole-hog and completely redesign or refactor or make other significant changes to the user library, or to Liaison which powers my user library.

That's a trap I tend to get myself into.

But today, I stayed focused on the task at hand, and I refused to do work that did not directly further that task.

I figured out how to setup the user software on reedybear.com, and in the process I documented those steps inside the User Library.

I identified several things about the user lib that were bad, that I could tweak or improve. But I declined to.

I said let's keep it simple & stay on task. So that's just what I did.

No refactor was needed. Zero software changes were needed to the User Lib (though I did composer update). Scrawl broke for some reason, probably in the update ... idunner. So rather than deep dive and fix a code block inclusion in my readme, I just copy+pasted.

Little sad leaving things in such yucky states.

But really nice to actually get done what I want to get done - enabling user login on reedybear.com.

Now that's just setup on the localhost side. I still need to push it & setup the DB for it on my webhost.

And there's not really a reason to do that until I'm actually using the login.

So my next step is to add some way to configure reedybear.com. Maybe just a markdown editor for the homepage? Or full html? Idunner.

I'd like to be able to add pages. At some point, I wanna blog on reedybear.com (and say bye to bearblog probably). but there's no rush for that. Just some really simple page creation would be nice.

Cuz right now - I have to boot into my linux install & open up my code editor & find or create the right file & then code it & then add my ssh key & then push it up to my server.

That sucks.

A benefit of that approach is git for backups.

So I'll probably want SOME sort of backup solution when I get to making pages through my web portal that is yet to be developed.

#blog