ReedyBear's Blog

Idea: Internet Commenting Hub

It would be neat, if a reader of my blog could then go write their own blog in response, and I would be notified about it.

My first idea is to link to a form where they literally just submit a link to their reply post, and I can go read it.

My second idea is a hub (such as bearblog.dev) will look for reply posts (perhaps based on a tag or title format) and I will be automatically notified.

My third idea is to reinvent social media.

My fourth idea is to have a message board elsewhere that I use for comms, and to keep this site extremely simple as just a blog. The footer could simply provide an automatic link to a site where comments can be left.

Update 8/29/2024: ForkingMad had linked to Komments.cloud, which provides commenting for web pages, it seems.

Go off queen

My fifth idea is a maturation of the fourth idea. It's a platform (god damnit) that is built for commenting on the web at large. Basically any webpage can be commented on, and people can communicate and comment about it.

A very advanced version might grab all public postings of a URL on Facebook and Twitter and Instagram and Reddit, organize each of those into subthreads, and have all those comments listed as well.

An earlier version could have a very easy-to-use API for reading and posting comments. Forums could hook into this, or something.

I think that what I'm talking about largely exists in different products, but none I've seen that have the intent of this idea.

Existing platforms like Facebook and Youtube silo you within them. You consume inside the platform, get notifications from the platform's app, you comment within the platform, and you can publish to the platform and be a creator yourself.

What I'm envisioning is more of ... we each have our own little corners on the internet, then we have a hub where we come together to discuss them. We are not tied to the hub. The content is owned solely by the creator, and the comments happen on the hub. Other hubs could exist of course. I mean any two people can just talk about an article together IRL.

Okay.

I had an idea. Now it's yours.

#idea