ReedyBear's Blog

Advocacy: HR 9151 should target producers and organized smugglers

I emailed my U.S. Congressional Representative regarding HR 9151. She has not sponsored HR 9151, but i was unable to contact reps outside my district who had.

The bill would strengthen enforcement against crimes of dodging import tariffs and embargos (and maybe other stuff).

I wrote the following email to my rep:

Regarding HR 9151 "To strengthen the Department of Justice's enforcement against trade-related crimes."

I fear this bill could be used to increase enforcement against regular taxpaying americans who might on rare occasion purchase cuban cigars or dodge a few dollars of import tariffs.

I believe legislation such as this should be focused on any organized perpetrators - larger businesses avoiding tariffs, or smuggling rings.

I think it is good to protect our economy to some extent, but i don't believe it's everyday consumers who should be targeted by the justice department. I think the bill should make it explicit that the increased enforcement ought to be on producers and organized violators and large scale smugglers. I suspect that is the intention, but it needs to be in law to be sure.

P.S. I do believe we should have low tariffs and an end of embargos on life saving goods, such as medicines from Cuba.

P.p.s. Please add "Mx." To prefixes available on your contact form. I am Mx. Reed [Redacted] and was forced to misidentify myself on your form.

#advocacy #public-works