ReedyBear's Blog

Idea: Multi-Device Photo Albums Manager

I hate managing photos, and it may be because I don't use modern tech like Google Photos to auto-sort for me & sync & whatever else (Idk I haven't used it in years).

What I want is: A central dashboard that lists my 'Devices' first-and-foremost. I'd have a 'Linux Computer', 'Windows Computer', and 'Android Phone'. (I'd also possibly want my previous computers/phones to show up too)

And a 4th device 'Shared Photos', or maybe 'Cloud Photos' (Could different cloud providers be considered their own Device? Yes probably)

I would want to be able to seamlessly copy or move photos between devices. I'd want the option of automatic backups of each (and every) device. ('Cloud Photos' is for live use; it's not a backup!)

Of course, not every device would be accessible when using the Dashboard.

I think the dashboard (probably using the cloud photos or maybe ANOTHER cloud device) should store an index of photos and very low-quality versions of the actual images, to provide the hub functionality without the extensive bandwidth and storage requirements.

And then adding some functionality around identifying, moving, or removing duplicate photos would be cool.

The whole point is to have a single place I can go to where I feel like I'm managing all of my photos across all of my devices, and I feel like I'm in control of it all.

My current backup solution is to just use Syncthing to my laptop, and it's not a great setup, and I don't have it setup to run automatically.

This software very well may exist already. Idunner. I might shop around later.

I had an idea; now it's yours.

#idea