ReedyBear's Blog

I'm not sure how I want to exist online.

I have a website already, reedybear.com, and it's dead. I coded it myself, but haven't updated with the latest version of PHP, so it just shows an error message right now.

I've considered using Wordpress, but I hate Wordpress. I don't know if I have a good reason, except I find it slow, bulky, clunky, bloated, and basic in the wrong way. I know I could configure it, but idunner.

I know there are other products available, like this one, or other platforms like medium and blogger, but I don't think that's what I want.

I really just want to have my own little creator-software. A free & open source software product that I (and other online creators) can use as a central hub for their public life. I want to code it. I want to use it. I want to share it.

But mental illness has gotten in the way of my dreams, my plans. So I'm thinking maybe I should pair down & use something simple like Bear Blog as my central hub, and maybe I can pursue those other goals later.

This frankly isn't close to having all the features I want or need. But neither is my website lol, so maybe I should just get busy and start using this as a central hub. It has RSS, should be super easy to scrape, and I can always migrate my content to my own platform later, if I so choose, using an automated tool I make.

I kinda want the paid plan here, but alas I am poor. I'd rather have Deezer for music than my custom domain name, I guess. I can still embed photos, thanks to imgur, and I could make file downloads available thanks to Drive or pCloud or other services.

Also, I love the whole bear thing. It's really cute. I love bears ♥