ReedyBear's Blog

Idea: Personal web ranking and algorithm feeds

This is inline with my Personal Search Engine idea.

Browsing the indieweb & random websites, I come upon the occasional blog post that I'm super into. I don't want to subscribe to the creator's RSS or thoughtfully return to their blog at a later time.

But, I might be interested in seeing their stuff again anyway.

Social media, especially Youtube, handles this extremely well. I watch a video from some channel, I don't 'like' it, subscribe to them, or save the video to a playlist. But I do watch the whole video.

Tomorrow, a week, or sometimes months later, YouTube will recommend their channel again, and I might watch.

This process of algorithm watching me & recommending to me is how I've gotten into so many channels. It's wonderful in a way.

So I'd like something similar to that for my indie and random web consumption. Something that tracks websites I visit, and gives me the option to like or dislike or maybe even subscribe.

All seamlessly built into the browser (probably via an addon).

And then my own personal offline-algo-bot can recommend to me future items.

I had an idea. Now it's yours.

#idea